Primary links

Governance: Board, Councils, & Committees

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Policy Council

It is important to recognize that Early Head Start and Head Start are the first steps in making sure that no child is left behind. And that when we come together as parents, staff, Policy Councils, and governing Boards we can ensure that our youngest children have a solid foundation for life.

Policy Council members are currently enrolled Head Start parents and interested community members who act as a link between those people making and carrying out decisions and the people Head Start serves. Policy Council members are elected by their peers (see Policy Council handbook -English / Spanish)

Policy Council must work in partnership with key management and the Board of Directors to develop, review and approve policies, strategic directions, criteria for the recruitment, selection and enrollment of children, funding applications, personnel and other business orientated activities that requires Policy Council's approval. A governance flow chart helps link management, Board and Policy Council responsibilities together.

Policy Council held its annual Recognition Dinner on June 14, 2016 to celebrate the dedication given and support shown by Policy Council members. the Zingaro provided a Hawaiian themed buffet meal, awards and appreciation gifts were given out.

The Council had a strong membership of 20-25 parents every month!

Bob Bowler, PC Chair and his wife, Kristie

Council Member Rebecca Dean travels from the rural Oakridge classroom to attend monthly meetings and Rufus was recognized for providing delicious meals every month.

Policy Council puts the parent in the leadership position. It opens up the situation to where the parent says, "Yes, I can have a voice in some of what's happening to my life, my community, my children, my family, my child's education. What I think and how I am involved really matters." A monthly newsletter, "Policy Council (PC) Parent Chat" provides a forum for Policy Council to share information with other Head Start parents.

October 2016 (Spanish)
November 2016 (Spanish)
December 2016 (Spanish)

Policy Council meets the second Tuesday of the month from 6-9pm at the Whiteaker Head Start Center, 21 North Grand St, Eugene. The 2015-2016 dates are:
August  9, 2016
September 13, 2016
October 11, 2016
October 27, 2016 is the New Council training
November 8, 2016
December 13, 2016
January 10, 2017
February 14, 2017
March 14, 2017
April 11, 2017
May 9, 2017
June 13, 2017
July - No meeting scheduled

Other Important Groups

• Eligibility, Recruitment, Selection, Enrollment, Attendance (ERSEA) Committee
• Curriculum Committee
• Training Committee
• Health Services Advisory Committee
• Safety Committee
• Hiring Panels

Board of Directors

Head Start of Lane County Board of Directors represent community members with experience in fiscal management, legal and early childhood education, the Policy Council Vice Chair and past Head Start parents. Additional Board members reflect the communities served in Lane County.

This partnership helps to ensure that professional skills and business knowledge are balanced with the equally important voices of families who have children in the program. Volunteering many hours, the Board of Directors help guide and direct our program to benefit our community's neediest children.

The Board of Directors meets the third Tuesday of the month from 6-8pm at the Head Start central office, 221 B Street, Springfield. The 2015-2016 schedule is:
August 16, 2016
September 20, 2016
October 18, 2016
November 15, 2016
December 20, 2016
January 17, 2017
February 21, 2017
March 21, 2017
April 18, 2017
May 16, 2017
June 20, 2017
July - no meeting scheduled

Board Members
Sid Crenwelge, Chair
Gary Henderson
Paulette Ansari, Vice Chair
Lizz Rock, Secretary
Ed Feil
Jeff Kirtner
Jackie Lester
Karianne Conway
Chad Hamilton
Mandy Hilton (Policy Council Vice-Chair)

Executive Policy Council Members
Gena Weishar, Chair
Mandy Hilton, Vice Chair
Kasi  Langley, Secretary
Angelica Guerrero, Parliamentarian
Rebecca Dillon, Treasurer
Tiffany Sanderson, Historian