Primary links

Contact Us

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Lane County Office info

541-747-2425 | 541-747-6648 (fax)
221 B Street, Springfield, OR, 97477

Executive Director
Annie Soto | asoto@hsolc.org

Head Start Director
Gwyn Bachtle | gbachtle@hsolc.org

Head Start Program Director
Marci Gaston | mgaston@hsolc.org

Early Head Start
Cheri Peterson | cpeterson@hsolc.org

Education/Disabilities Consultant
Kerry Holmes | kholmes@hsolc.org

Enrollment Department
Karla Snell | ksnell@hsolc.org

Family Service/Community Partnership Consultant
Albertine Mitchell | amitchell@hsolc.org

Finance Director
Mary Scarpinato | mscarpinato@hsolc.org

Food Services Manager
Vanessa Thompson | vthompson@hsolc.org

Health Consultant
Val Haynes | vhaynes@hsolc.org

Human Resources Director
Angie Hansen | ahansen@hsolc.org

Network Administrator
Mel Stiner | mstiner@hsolc.org

Operations Director 
Charleen Strauch | cstrauch@hsolc.org 

National Program

Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Office of Head Start (OHS) advises the Assistant Secretary for Children and Families on issues regarding the Head Start program.

The Office develops legislative and budgetary proposals; identifies areas for research, demonstration, and developmental activities; presents operational planning objectives and initiatives relating to Head Start to the Assistant Secretary for Administration for Children and Families; and oversees the progress of approved activities.

OHS provides leadership and coordination for the activities of the Head Start program in the ACF Central Office including the Head Start Regional Program Units. The Office represents Head Start in inter-agency activities with other Federal and non-Federal organizations.

The Head Start program provides grants to local public and private non-profit and for-profit agencies to provide comprehensive child development services to economically disadvantaged children and families.

Go to the National Head Start web site.

 

Head Start of Lane County Service Area

The Head Start program was piloted in Lane County in 1967. The program had been administered by several different agencies, both public and private, and has grown from serving 175 children in 1976 to serving 1,080 children and their families in 2012/13. Since 1993 the program has been administered by Head Start of Lane County (HSOLC), a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization based in Springfield. As of 2012 there are 55 classrooms at 16 service centers in 8 communities throughout Lane County. An additional 3 community childcare programs include HSOLC children. Early Head Start began in 2010 with 50 slots designed for infants, toddlers and pregnant moms.

Head Start is a part day program for children ages 3-5 in a preschool classroom four days a week for 3 1/2 hours a day.

Early Head Start offers a home base program for pregnant women and children ages 0-3 years. A combination program for children ages 12-36 months provides toddler socialization and home visits.

Early Head Start and Head Start Full Day/Year is designed for working or student families needing childcare for children ages 6 weeks to 5 years. Classes are five days a week. Full day services are offered in a Head Start Center and community childcare locations.